Greater Montréal Real Estate Board

Members Access (Reserved Section)

Login


Press Room

Press Releases

The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board is Pleased That the Welcome Tax is on the Radar of Many Candidates Running in the Montréal Area Municipal Election

L’Île-des-Sœurs, November 2, 2017 - The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board (GMREB) is pleased to see that homeownership has become an important issue in the upcoming municipal election. Several candidates for various mayor positions in the Greater Montréal area have made commitments to better support first-time buyers. One of the best tools for supporting these first-time buyers is an expanded refund of the Land Transfer Tax.

Also known as the "Welcome Tax", the Land Transfer Tax represents a significant expense for first-time buyers who are struggling to qualify for their first mortgage due to the different regulatory tightening measures implemented by the federal government. For a house in the Montréal CMA that costs $320,500 (median price), the Land Transfer Tax represents a total of $3,308.

"We are very pleased to see that the candidates running in the municipal election are making the same observation as we are regarding the obstacle that the Land Transfer Tax poses to homeownership. Ontario has implemented a rebate program for first-time buyers, which we believe is the way to go," said Mr. Mathieu Cousineau, President of the GMREB Board of Directors.

The GMREB notes that the reimbursement of the Land Transfer Tax, in whole or in part, is the subject of specific commitments by the main candidates in the cities of Montréal, Terrebonne, Longueuil, Mirabel and Brossard. Once elected, several candidates intend to implement municipal homeownership strategies. This enthusiasm for homeownership is being seen for the first time.

"Cities that now have new financial tools under Bill 122, particularly with a new tax level for the Land Transfer Tax, can fund homeownership initiatives. Data from Statistics Canada's most recent census are conclusive, indicating that the Montréal CMA’s homeownership rate (55.7 per cent) continues to lag behind the Canadian average (67.8 per cent). It’s time to tackle this important economic issue," added Mr. Cousineau.

GMREB representatives will continue to meet with municipal election candidates before the November 5 municipal election and provide them with information on the need to implement tools that support first-time buyers.

About the Greater Montréal Real Estate Board

The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board is a non-profit organization with more than 9,000 members: real estate brokers. Its mission is to actively promote and protect its members’ professional interests in order for them to successfully meet their business objectives.


For more information:
Manon Stébenne
Manager, Communications and Public Relations
Greater Montréal Real Estate Board
Tel.: 514-762-2440, ext. 157
manon.stebenne@cigm.qc.ca

Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

Accès Membres (Section réservée)

Accéder


Salle de presse

Communiqués de presse

La Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal constate que les droits de mutation sont dans la mire de plusieurs candidats aux élections municipales dans la RMR de Montréal

L’Île-des-Sœurs, le 2 novembre 2017 - La Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal (CIGM) est heureuse de constater que l’accession à la propriété est devenue un enjeu électoral important sur la scène municipale. Plusieurs candidates et candidats aux différents postes de maires dans la région métropolitaine de Montréal ont pris des engagements afin de mieux appuyer les premiers acheteurs. L’un des meilleurs outils pour appuyer ces premiers acheteurs est un remboursement élargi des droits de mutation.

Aussi connus sous le vocable « taxe de bienvenue », les droits de mutation représentent une dépense importante pour les premiers acheteurs de maison qui peinent de plus en plus à se qualifier à un premier prêt hypothécaire en raison des différents resserrements réglementaires exercés par le gouvernement fédéral. Pour une maison médiane de 320 500 $ dans la RMR de Montréal, le droit de mutation représente une facture de 3 308 $.

« Nous sommes très satisfaits de voir que le municipal fait le même constat que nous quant au frein que représente le droit de mutation en matière d’accession à la propriété. L’Ontario a mis en place un programme de remboursement pour les premiers acheteurs, nous croyons que c’est la marche à suivre », a déclaré le président du conseil d’administration de la CIGM, monsieur Mathieu Cousineau.

La CIGM observe que le remboursement du droit de mutation, en totalité ou partiellement, fait l’objet d’engagements précis des principaux candidats des villes de Montréal, Terrebonne, Longueuil, Mirabel et Brossard. Plusieurs candidates et candidats ont l’intention de déposer, une fois élus, des stratégies municipales en accession à la propriété. Cet engouement pour l’accession à la propriété est une première.

« Les villes ayant désormais de nouvelles capacités financières avec la loi 122, notamment avec un nouveau palier fiscal pour les droits de mutation, peuvent financer des initiatives en accession à la propriété. Les données du dernier recensement de Statistique Canada sont probantes, la RMR de Montréal (55,7 %) continue de traîner de la patte face à la moyenne canadienne (67,8 %) au chapitre du taux de propriétaire. Il est temps de s’attaquer à ce problème économique important », a ajouté monsieur Cousineau.

Les représentants de la CIGM continueront de rencontrer des candidats aux élections municipales et de leur transmettre des informations quant à la nécessité de mettre en place des outils pour appuyer les premiers acheteurs d’ici le scrutin municipal du 5 novembre.

À propos de la Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

La Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal est une association à but non lucratif qui compte plus de 9 000 membres, courtiers immobiliers. Sa mission est de promouvoir et de protéger activement les intérêts professionnels de ses membres afin qu’ils accomplissent avec succès leurs objectifs d’affaires.


Renseignements : 
Manon Stébenne
Directrice des communications et des relations publiques
Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal
Tél. : 514 762-2440, poste 157
manon.stebenne@cigm.qc.ca