Greater Montréal Real Estate Board

Members Access (Reserved Section)

Login


Press Room

Press Releases

Bill on the Regulation of the Financial Sector: The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board has Serious Concerns

L’Île-des-Sœurs, October 6, 2017 - In reaction to the introduction of the bill to amend the Real Estate Brokerage Act (REBA), the Greater Montréal Real Estate Board (GMREB) is concerned about the consequences that the government's proposed measures will have on consumers, knowing the importance of real estate transactions on Québec’s economy.

Québec’s Minister of Finance, Mr. Carlos J. Leitão, tabled bill 141 yesterday in the National Assembly. This bill is aimed primarily at improving the regulation of the financial sector, the protection of money deposits and the rules of functioning for financial institutions. Expected since 2016, this legislative exercise includes an in-depth reform of the REBA, which governs real estate brokers operating in Québec.

While welcoming the Government's initiative to enhance the REBA with a view to modernizing it, the GMREB nonetheless believes that the proposed amendments will have a detrimental effect on consumer protection during a real estate transaction.

Although it is too early to comment on the entire bill, the GMREB will analyze the proposal in further detail but urges the Minister of Finance to carefully assess the potential impact of the proposed changes.

The GMREB suggests that the provisions of the bill will allow individuals to freely carry out real estate brokerage activities without holding a licence, without having prior training and without having any professional insurance. It is important to remember that the GMREB has been campaigning for several years now for better oversight of real estate brokerage activities.

“The government’s proposal, which does not clearly define a brokerage operation, will contribute to creating more confusion among the public. We believe the government should better define the activities included in a brokerage operation and reserve them for licence holders, thereby improving the protection of the public,” said Mathieu Cousineau, President of the GMREB Board of Directors.

The GMREB will closely monitor the progress of the bill and will continue to make representations on behalf of its members, all the while collaborating with the Department of Finance. It goes without saying that the GMREB invites the Minister of Finance to consult with industry stakeholders on the issues raised by this proposal and its effects on consumer protection.

About the Greater Montréal Real Estate Board

The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board is a non-profit organization with more than 9,000 members: real estate brokers. Its mission is to actively promote and protect its members’ professional interests in order for them to successfully meet their business objectives.


For more information:
Manon Stébenne
Manager, Communications and Public Relations
Greater Montréal Real Estate Board
Tel.: 514-762-2440, ext. 157
manon.stebenne@cigm.qc.ca

Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

Accès Membres (Section réservée)

Accéder


Salle de presse

Communiqués de presse

Projet de loi sur l’encadrement du secteur financier : sérieuses préoccupations pour la Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

L’Île-des-Sœurs, le 6 octobre 2017 - Réagissant à la présentation du projet de loi modifiant la Loi sur le courtage immobilier (LCI), la Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal (CIGM) s’inquiète des conséquences des mesures proposées par le gouvernement sur le consommateur, sachant le rôle clé des transactions immobilières sur l’économie québécoise.

Le ministre des Finances du Québec, M. Carlos J. Leitão, déposait hier à l’Assemblée nationale le projet de loi no 141, loi visant principalement à améliorer l’encadrement du secteur financier, la protection des dépôts d’argent et le régime de fonctionnement des institutions financières. Attendu depuis 2016, cet exercice législatif inclut une réforme en profondeur de la LCI qui encadre les courtiers immobiliers qui exercent leurs activités au Québec.

Saluant l’initiative gouvernementale de procéder à la bonification de la LCI, dans une optique de modernisation, la CIGM est néanmoins d’avis que les modifications présentées auront des effets préjudiciables sur la protection du consommateur lors d’une transaction immobilière.

Bien qu’il soit trop tôt pour se prononcer sur l’ensemble du projet de loi, la CIGM étudiera plus en détail la proposition, mais invite déjà le ministre des Finances à faire preuve de précaution dans son évaluation des impacts potentiels des changements proposés.

La CIGM soulève que les dispositions du projet de loi permettront à des individus d’exécuter librement des activités de courtage immobilier, et ce, sans être titulaire d’un permis, sans formation préalable et sans aucune assurance professionnelle. Rappelons que la CIGM milite depuis plusieurs années pour un meilleur encadrement des activités de courtage immobilier.

« La proposition gouvernementale, qui ne définit pas clairement l’opération de courtage, contribuerait à créer davantage de confusion chez le public. Nous croyons que le gouvernement devrait mieux définir les activités de l’opération de courtage et les réserver aux titulaires de permis, améliorant du coup la protection du public », souligne Mathieu Cousineau, président du conseil d’administration de la CIGM.

La CIGM suivra de près le cheminement du projet de loi et veillera à effectuer des représentations au nom de ses membres, le tout en collaboration avec le ministère des Finances. Il va sans dire que la CIGM invite le ministre des Finances à consulter les parties prenantes de l’industrie sur les enjeux soulevés par la présente proposition ainsi que ses effets sur la protection du consommateur.

À propos de la Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

La Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal est une association à but non lucratif qui compte plus de 9 000 membres, courtiers immobiliers. Sa mission est de promouvoir et de protéger activement les intérêts professionnels de ses membres afin qu’ils accomplissent avec succès leurs objectifs d’affaires.


Renseignements : 
Manon Stébenne
Directrice des communications et des relations publiques
Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal
Tél. : 514 762-2440, poste 157
manon.stebenne@cigm.qc.ca